The original Hopkins Review was a literary magazine published by the Johns Hopkins Writing Seminars from 1947 to 1953. The Hopkins Review (New Series) is a joint venture of the Writing Seminars and the Johns Hopkins University Press that brings the magazine back into existence as a quarterly review publishing fiction, poetry, memoirs, essays on literature, drama, film, the visual arts, music, and dance, as well as reviews of books, performances, and exhibits.

The Hopkins Review (ISSN 1939-6589) is published quarterly in the Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall by the Johns Hopkins University Press, 2715 N. Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218-4363.

New Series Founding Editor

  • John T. Irwin


  • David Yezzi

Assistant Editors

  • Emma Bogdonoff
  • Maya Chesley
  • Journey Fetter
  • Spencer Hupp
  • Kosisochukwu Ugwueze

Faculty Advisory Editors

  • James Arthur
  • Danielle Evans
  • Brad Leithauser
  • Dora Malech
  • Jean McGarry
  • Andrew Motion
  • Katharine Noel
  • Eric Puchner
  • Shannon Robinson
  • Mary Jo Salter
  • Greg Williamson

Contributing Editors

  • Max Apple
  • J.M. Coetzee
  • Louise Erdrich
  • J. Hillis Miller
  • Dave Smith
  • Helen Vendler
  • Rosanna Warren
  • David Wyatt

Advisory Editors

  • Joanne Leedom-Ackerman
  • John Astin
  • John Barth
  • Phyllis Berger
  • William Breichner
  • Logan D. Browning
  • William E. Buchanan
  • Burton Bullard
  • D.N. Deluna
  • Robert L. Friedman
  • Christine Jowers
  • Kathleen Keane
  • Edward Perlman
  • Wyatt Prunty
  • John D. Rockefeller V
  • Winston Tabb
  • Susan Weiss